10 Highest Individual Scores in IPL History

It was the year 2007. The twenty20 format was in its nascent stages. India had just won the first t20 world cup and the cricketing world was looking to capitalise on the format’s accessibility and newfound popularity, and thus the IPL was birthed. The Indian Premier League was a breath of fresh air for the world of cricket. Over its short and rather tumultuous span, it has provided the world with some legendary talents and unforgettable sportsmanship. New records are set and broken every season, which adds to the drama and entertainment value of the league. With the 15th season underway, let us look back at the 10 highest individual scores in IPL history over the years.


1. Chris Gayle – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Highest score – 175*

Year – 2013

Opposing team – Pune Warriors

This is undoubtedly the most magnificent knock in IPL history. Not only did Gayle make an extraordinary 175*, but also set the record for the quickest t20 century – one that he made in a meagre 30 deliveries. In addition, Gayle also took the title of most sixes hit by an individual – 17 out of RCB’s total of 21. Legends like Mitchell Marsh and Aron Finch took hit after hit with no way of reviving their team’s chance to win that match.

2. Brendon McCullum- Kolkata Knight Riders

Highest score – 158*

Year – 2008

Opposing team – Royal Challengers Bangalore

The inaugural match of the IPL was made even more memorable with this breathtaking knock by Brendon McCullum, who made the contemporary t20 record of 158* against RCB in only 73 balls. This was KKR’s one-man batting assault which was later backed by tremendous bowling. RCB made a mere 82, meaning McCullum’s individual score was greater than their margin of loss (140). This inning set the tone for what would become the most stunning, high scoring t20 League in the world. 


3. AB de Villiers – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Highest score – 133*

Year – 2015

Opposing team – Mumbai Indians

This beautiful display of batsmanship came in the crucial RCB v. MI match of 2015. This match saw two stunning knocks from de Villiers and Kohli, the latter of whom made a brilliant 82* and provided solid support as a captain to his star player. There wasn’t a single ball that de Villiers missed and it resulted in a match-winning knock. This magnificent score, made in all of 59 balls, made a packed Wankhede Stadium chant de Villiers’ name, foregoing all loyalties for their home team. 

4. KL Rahul – Kings XI Punjab

Highest score – 132

Year – 2020

Opposing team – Royal Challengers Bangalore

This outstanding inning was a combination of focused and skilled batting from KL Rahul and some poor fielding attempts in the death by RCB. After being dropped twice in the 17th and 18th overs, Rahul decimated Shivam Dube and Dale Steyn and made 42 off a mere 9 balls. Rahul delivered a captain’s knock, making 132* in all of 69 deliveries and helped deliver a shameful defeat to RCB.

5. AB de Villiers – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Highest score – 129*

Year – 2016

Opposing team – Gujarat Lions

AB de Villiers is known to be the architect of numerous RCB wins over the years. This match was no different, especially since he was joined by his captain, Virat Kohli, both of whom made match-winning centuries to take the team to a historic 144-run victory. The crackling 129* came off just 52 deliveries, restoring the somewhat dwindling faith of fans in the franchise. 

6. Chris Gayle – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Highest score – 128*

Year – 2012

Opposing team – Delhi Daredevils

The ever-dependent Chris Gayle delivered a match-winning inning against DD along with his captain Virat Kohli. The all-important league stage match was essential for RCB to win to take them up to 17 points and level them with Chennai, and the brilliant knock of 128* in 62 balls was precisely what the team needed to propel them to victory. This was also the second-best t20 partnership a whopping 204, which included 13 sixes from just Gayle.

7. Rishabh Pant – Delhi Daredevils

Highest score – 128*

Year – 2018

Opposing team – Sunrisers Hyderabad

In a rare instance where such a majestic knock did not take a team over the line, Pant delivered a fantastic inning with little backing from his teammates, putting 128* runs off 63 balls on the board by himself. Both DD openers were dismissed off successive balls from Shakib al Hasan, setting the stage for a generally dry spell for the team with the exception of Pant’s outstanding effort. The high-scoring match was a bid for a spot in the playoffs, and while Pant’s spell took the team closer to a chance to win, SRH’s resilient effort took them into the playoffs. 

8. Murali Vijay – Chennai Super Kings

Highest score – 127

Year – 2010

Opposing team – Rajasthan Royals

In a terrific turn in the second half of CSK’s innings, Murali Vijay and Albie Morkel built the highest partnership of the season and led their team to a winning score of 246 for 5. Vijay’s 127 off 56 balls propelled the team to a 23-run victory. Not a single RR bowler was spared from the continued onslaught from Vijay’s bat,  right from the first powerplay. The missed run-out opportunity by Warne cost his team a crucial match and gave Vijay the chance to play almost all 20 overs, before his wicket fell in the last over. 

Source: Facebook

9. David Warner – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Highest score – 126

Year – 2017

Opposing team – Kolkata Knight Riders

This inning was a particular stunner. This was the fifth-fastest century in IPL history, threatening to become a double century at the pace at which Warner was hitting the ball out of the field. The knock came at a crucial time when SRH needed a win against the Knights to gain the second spot on the table, just under Mumbai. Warner’s strike rate and pace caused quite a stir when he reached his century in the 11th over. Knocks like this may not be the highest on the table of statistics but they sure are some of the most memorable.

10. Jos Butler – Rajasthan Royals

Highest score – 124

Year – 2021

Opposing team – Sunrisers Hyderabad

In the final entry on this list, there’s Jos Butler who made his maiden t20 century against SRH in fashion. His knock included 11 fours and 8 sixes as part of his 62-ball stint that made 124 runs. His final 74 came off just 25 deliveries, building a solid foundation for his team’s score of 220 for 3. This was an essential milestone for Butler and crucial innings for Rajasthan, moving further up the table while keeping Hyderabad from putting their first points on the table.

Images Courtesy: Ipl20

From players smashing boundaries with ease to reaching mammoth totals, these top 10 highest individual scores in IPL history have etched their names in the tournament’s history.

The IPL has earned its reputation as one of the most competitive and high-scoring leagues in part because of these mind-blowing stints with the bat. There’s a new set of records broken and set every year and some of the most unimaginable innings are an inseparable part of every season. These high-scoring innings are just the tip of the iceberg of reasons why the IPL is such a loved and cherished part of every cricket lover’s year. 

You might also like
buy metronidazole online